Dear Church,

I write a lot of letters to the church. I love the church. I long to be a part of Christ’s Body. But I’m the rainbow-colored sheep that never quite fit in. There’s so much misunderstanding right now. I frequently find myself being labeled as rebellious, rejecting God’s Word. But all I want is to be the person He made me to be. Unfortunately, that person is not acceptable to many Christians. This letter is to the American evangelical church at large, not to anyone in particular.

September 18, 2016

Oh Church. You are fighting the wrong battles again. You have this black-and-white idea of what’s right and wrong. You’re so sure you know how God feels about people like me. And you’ve turned opinion into doctrine. So to you, anyone with a different opinion is rebelling against God. But you forget that it’s you who said it first, not God.

Stop making it a fight against people. Stop making it Us vs. Them. I am not your enemy! I am not God’s enemy! I am His child, and I know who I am. Don’t be so sure of yourself. Give up everything you think you know. Give up everything except the very words from Christ’s mouth. Let your doctrine go, and if it is truth you will find it again.

But whatever is human, religion, tradition–don’t be shocked if it is washed away. Trust that what is real will weather the test. And whatever cannot stand is not worth building on. It’s not worth fighting for. It’s not worth losing friends over.

Maybe it will make you uncomfortable. Maybe it will stretch your mind. But God is more creative than we give Him credit for. If our doctrine cannot contain Him, should that be so astounding? It’s time to re-examine our beliefs to accommodate God. We cannot keep Him confined. If our world must be shaken in order for us to see that, then let it shake.

Leave a comment